Memorization…???

“I’m bad at memorizing.”

“I just don’t have time.”

“Oh yeah… I used to do that in Sunday School.”

"You should totally do that!"

These are just a few of the responses that we ( and even i confess) to have given in response to memorizing Bible verses.

“If I had to choose between all the disciplines of the spiritual life, I would choose Bible memorization, because it is a fundamental way of filling our minds with what it needs.” – Dallas Willard

“Memorizing Scripture. . . . No other single exercise pays greater spiritual dividends!” – Chuck Sindoll

“The times when people need you to give them comfort and counsel do not always coincide with the times you have your Bible handy. Not only that, the very word of God spoken spontaneously from your heart has unusual power.” ~ John Piper

John Piper gives the following  6 reason in more details at this site <– 

1. Conformity to Christ

2. Daily Triumph over Sin

3. Daily Triumph over Satan

4. Comfort and Counsel for People You Love

5. Communicating the Gospel to Unbelievers

6. Communion with God in the Enjoyment of His Person and Ways

So in an endeavor to start today  in memorizing scripture I’m calling you to be my cyber accountability.

Join me!

Let me know what you’re memorizing or join me in memorizing…

James 1:1-12

One thought on “Memorization…???

  1. Lindsey Killebrew May 11, 2011 / 12:46 pm

    Thank you – this is an encouraging reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

