Dandelions in the Hunger Games

THE HUNGER GAMES…

Suzanne Collins weaved a story of intrigue and love, power and seduction, fear and survival.

(Have no fear I won’t give anything away just yet.)

For 5 days, I obsessed over the story of Katniss Everdeen and her fight for survival and struggle to understand her heart.

Collins writes in a way that is intoxicating and dominates the imagination.

For a story synopsis go >> HERE <<

One of the many details that stood out was Collins’ use of Dandelions in the story.

(I have always had a thing for Dandelions.) This weed is symbolic of hope and life.

The main character reflects,

“Our eyes met for only a second, then he turned his head away. I dropped my gaze embarrassed, and that’s when I saw it. The first dandelion of the year… I can never shake the connection between the boy, the bread that gave me hope, and the dandelion that reminded me that I was not doomed.” (The Hunger Games, page 32)

Clever and beautiful.

I’ll post more of a review of the books and writings soon…

If you haven’t yet – check out the trailer – The Hunger Games MOVIE (Coming March 23)

Leave a Reply

