The Almost Death & Restoration of My Red Wing Boots

A couple of summers ago my Mom found these AMAZING boots for me on a particularly fabulous sale. Red Wing Boots have a fantastic reputation; American made, built for work, and long term use. I had no idea how great they were until Yesterday!

Last season, after using my boots to weed eat, mow lawn, stock the wood pile, tromp through the mud, and snow, then I put them away safe and sound… so I thought. I had a careless moment and left them in the shed outside.

Meanwhile…

My well meaning Father had thrown some equipment into the shed to protect his stuff from the Pacific Northwest elements, after all, isn’t that what a shed is for?! Anyone who lives here knows – if you leave it outside, its as good as gone.

He didn’t know that some damp supplies, metal things, and other junk had landed ontop of my boots! There the pile sat in the dark dismal winter shed… rotting.

After finding them, I nearly burst into tears at my carelessness. But my brother happens to know more than I do about such important things. He said, “Red Wing Boots are made to last. Just clean them off and they’ll be fine!”

After a good scrub with leather cleaner and my Mother’s TLC with a generous portion of shoe polish my boots have been restored! Within 24 hrs they look brand new!

Before & After
Before & After

The moral of today’s story… just cause something looks lost doesn’t mean it is!

or

Wash away the rottenness to restore the beauty… if it works for boots, it’ll probably work for you!

4 thoughts on “The Almost Death & Restoration of My Red Wing Boots

    • anniemaeblog June 4, 2013 / 6:58 pm

      My thoughts exactly! You especially understand about PNW weather. Thank you 🙂

    • anniemaeblog June 4, 2013 / 6:58 pm

      I know, right!? Thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

