Let It Rain

Adventure. Spontaneity. Back-Roads.
The afternoon was promising.
Light hearted plans and simple joys.
However, things don’t always go as we plan.
picnic rain

It rains on our picnics. Our friends won’t come play. The “No Trespassing” sign meant it. The movie is sold out. Plans fail. Disappointment remains.

I returned home, defeated.

As I lay on the grass listening to thunder and letting the cool drops of rain fall over me, I wait. I’ve come to expect the Pacific Northwest rain to clear my head and my heart in the same way it clears the air. Let it rain, Lord knows I need it.

Leave a Reply

