The Death of a Mentor… Whom I Never Met; in memory of Elizabeth Elliot

“Blessed are the PURE in heart, for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8

Elizabeth Elliot (December 21, 1926 ~ June 15, 2015) 

Elizabeth Elliot Books
I was a child when I learned of the 5 missionaries who died in South America. They gave their lives because they were passionate about sharing the Truth and Love of Jesus with the indigenous tribes in the Jungles of South America.

But the story didn’t stop with a few martyrs… The story kept going with these missionaries’ wives and their children. Elizabeth Elliot was one of the wives and her passion for life has rippled across the world. God has used her greatly and I am so thankful to have been mentored by her… even though we never met. I’m certain many women feel the same way.

Most of the evangelical circle knew of Elizabeth Elliot for her book, “Passion and Purity”I love and I hate this book! (I say that with a smile on my face.) Let me explain… What started out as the classic teenage Christian girl thing to do – “Read a good book promoting abstinence and why saving sex for marriage was important” – turned out to be a book that 15 years after the first read through, I still turn to as if it were an aunt next door.I hated it because she was so often right! Just like a loving Aunt who says what you need to hear but don’t want to. When my heart was sad or overly-hopefully, I could turn to her wisdom and find depths of love and understanding that I am striving after. Through her story I learned that the best cure for heart-ache is manual labor. (Sounds funny… but I live by it!) Hard work and faithful attention to God’s Word.Elliot lived a life full of passion and love and wanted so badly for – especially – young women to experience the joy of following Jesus in love, strength, and purity.

To my Aunt-Mentor through the written word, “Thank you.” I look forward to a proper conversation when the Lord calls me Home.

To learn more about her life read “Through Gates of Splendor” and watch the movie endorsed by her son, “End of the Spear” and when you want to know more about sex read one of my favorite pamphlet EVER written by Elizabeth Elliot “Sex is is a Lot More Than Fun” … much laughter travels with this promotion of purity. If you can’t find the awesome pamphlet – Just read it here!

4 thoughts on “The Death of a Mentor… Whom I Never Met; in memory of Elizabeth Elliot

  1. Holistic Wayfarer July 11, 2015 / 8:58 pm

    Aw…I have actually wondered if she is still living. I am saddened she has left us, though she is beyond the gates of splendor. I’ve heard her speak twice…and asked her a desperate question once in college. She just nodded and said, “Trust God.” Did you ever get her newsletter back then? Oh, my heart…

    • anniemaeblog July 11, 2015 / 10:23 pm

      I didn’t get her newsletter. I should look them up – I’m sure they are archived somewhere. Her life spread Wisdom and so many flowers have bloomed from her seeds planted! So thankful and encouraged. Blessings upon you and thank you for sharing your memory of her with me!

Leave a Reply

