Online Dating Round 2: “Rejection”

Rejection*Note… this is about me! So laugh with me and hopefully learn something.

I have been rejected many times.

  • I didn’t get the part in the play I wanted.
  • I didn’t get the job… last time, I didn’t even get the interview! I applied for 25+ different jobs at Amazon WHILE I was contracted there… and I didn’t get a single interview.
  • I submitted articles to magazines – rejections.
  • I am about to submit a story for publication… and I fully expect initial rejection. (It is quite common to have to resubmit stories and books to many publishers before someone will take a chance on you and your idea. Others who have experienced literary rejection Madaleine L’engle, Stephen King, Beatrix Potter…. just to name a few of the many <Read the BuzzFeed article HERE for More.)

However, relationship  rejection pulls on a different section of the heart.(Pause so you can remember… but not linger!)

With an online dating app the rules have changed a bit… thankfully the delightful Online Dating App designers have made rejection even easier with per-fabricated “rejection” messages which include lines such as…

“Thank you for the message but I don’t think we’re a match.”

“No, but thank you for asking.”

Then if you really don’t want them to contact you again, there is the harsh but necessary “Block” button.

I leave you with the following, hopefully helpful, rejection guidelines.

Miss Mae’s Rules

on

Giving & Receiving Rejection

  • Rejection is not the end of the world.
  • Be nice! Just because they don’t appreciate us, doesn’t mean that we need to call them names… in your head, out loud, and especially NOT on social media.
  • Silence is not helpful. Show some maturity and respect by responding.
  • We don’t need to beg for attention.
  • We mustn’t lash out when our interest isn’t reciprocated.
  • Remember, the person on the other side of this interaction is made in the image of God and deserves to be shown respect and kindness.
  • Once its done… WALK AWAY! or Run. Literally. It helps. (As in go work out… the endorphins will help you feel better faster.) 
Leave a Reply

